Political Map of Democratic Republic of the Congo (Zaire)
Political Map of Democratic Republic of the Congo (Zaire)

Political Map of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (Zaire) shows the international boundaries, provincial boundaries with names, the national capital, and provincial capitals.

Geography of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (Zaire)

Earlier known as Zaire, Congo is bounded by the Central African Republic and South Sudan towards the North; Tanzania, Rwanda, Uganda, and Burundi towards the East; Zambia towards the southeast and Angola towards the southwest. The country’s west zone is surrounded by a petite Atlantic seashore, Congo (Brazzaville), and Cabinda’s Angolan exclave. Located in Central Africa, Congo’s chief geography includes a large river sink, a huge valley, highlands, a low coastal plain, and 3 mountain ranges. Congo has a 40-km seashore on the Atlantic Ocean, else it is non-coastal.

Demography of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (Zaire)

The total population of the country is 89,561,403 and the life expectancy at birth for both sexes is 61.6 years. Population estimates for Congo consider the impacts of extra death because of AIDS, resulting in lower life expectancy, greater infant, and overall death rates. Congo’s population has highly been affected due to the Congo War also known as the African World War that occurred in 1998; approx. 90% of soldiers died of malaria and other diseases, displacing a great population percentage. Notably, Congo’s population developed from 39 million (1992) to 66 million (2009).

Culture in the Democratic Republic of the Congo (Zaire)

Around 250 distinct traditional groups stay in Congo, speaking around 250 different languages. While French is the official language of Congo; languages Bantu is spoken by approx. 80% of the people across the city. Congo is popular for its distinctive ethnic groups, religions, languages, theatre, literature, masks, sculptures, fashion, and music. Congo is predominantly a Christian nation; the majority of people follow Christianity including 46-48% (Roman Catholics) and 26-28% (Protestants); while 1.5 -10% follow Islam and 2-10% practice ethnic beliefs.

Places to visit in the Democratic Republic of the Congo (Zaire)


Kinshasa is the capital city of Congo and one of the 11 provinces of Congo. The city is chaotic, vibrant, and buzzes with energy with approx. 10 million inhabitants. A huge road art culture enhances the beauty of the city; you can directly negotiate with the real and local artists for pieces of art while sipping a cup of coffee or eating snacks.

Lola Ya Bonobo

A sanctuary for bereaved bonobos, Lola is one of the most famous tourist attractions in Kinshasa. Bonobos are usually hunted for bushmeat and bay Bonobos are usually sold in the black market after the mother is killed.

Kahuzi Biega National Park

Situated in the Province of South Kivu, Kahuzi extends from the Congo basin to Bukavu. Biega and Kahuzi are the extinct volcanoes allowing hiking in the present day. Established in 1970 for protecting the Gorillas of Eastern Lowland, the park was chosen as World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 1980.

Overall, the Congo is popular for its wildlife; crocodiles and hippopotamuses are highly common in lakes and rivers and one can easily see dolphins, lungfishes, and whales across the coastline. Congo is popular for reptiles and different types of snakes such as vipers, tree cobras, and pythons can be found here.

The best time to visit Congo is in between May to September as the season is usually dry and a slight drop in the temperature can also be witnessed then.